Swat’s Cooking?: Pasta & Stuff

12 Jun

Welcome to Swat’s Cooking?, the cooking column on our blog that shows you the inner workings of our (efficiency) kitchen.

A huge part of the Swarthmore Summer experience is cooking for yourself. Because Sharples does not provide a summer meal plan, students must brave the supermarket (and let me tell you, unless you have a member card, those prices can be very scary). Each night, Lauren, Steven, Eddie, and I will attempt to find new recipes and learn how to make meals that do not come pre-made and prepackaged. And, it can be especially challenging because I have a some tricky eating restrictions (I’m a vegetarian with a dairy and peanut allergy).

We’ll show you both the good and the bad, and, hopefully, gain some cooking skills along the way.

Swat’s cooking?! Pasta’s cooking!

The first dish that we’ll show you is one that we (Steven and I) made during our first week here: Pasta & Stuff (I write “stuff” because I have this habit of putting more vegetables in the dish than I do pasta… basically, I like a lot of “stuff”).

Voilà! (So much stuff!!!)

Ingredients: (Everything is eye-balled; the amount of vegetables that you use is up to you, but be careful not to use too much oil.)

  • Pasta
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Black Olives
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

What to do:

  1. Mince a few cloves of garlic and sauté it with some olive oil.
  2. Once the garlic begins to brown, add mushrooms, black olives, and diced tomatoes.
  3. Begin to cook your pasta (any shape of your choosing).
  4. When the pasta is almost done, place the spinach in with the vegetables. I try to keep it from wilting too much.
  5. Season the vegetables with salt, red pepper flakes, and pepper.
  6. Mix it all together.
  7. Nom-out (AKA eat it and enjoy!).

The reviews:

Aileen: (A slightly biased review) “I am a star. Consider me Le Cordon Bleu-bound.”

Steven: “Good. Delicious. Yum yum in my tum-tum.”

…but, in all seriousness, the dish was pretty good. I have no intentions of becoming a food critic, thus my ability to aptly describe the tastes and textures of a dish is sorely lacking. But, as far as dinners go, this meal was a hit. It seems that we’re off to a good start.

Until next time!

-Aileen

Leave a Reply

