You Can Call Me Cthulhu…

15 Jun

I know you are all dying for an explanation of the name. Have no fear, the wait is over!

I got nicknamed Cthulhu during my work at LPAC (Lang Performing Arts Center). My claim to fame around the office is busting a lamp in a really cool manner. Although the death of the lamp wasn’t technically my fault (all great lamps must come to an end), the lamp did cease in exist under my operation of the board…and I now like to think that it was my epic mind control that destroyed the lamp in the most creative way possible.

If you are trying to visualize the lighting instrument in which the lamp busted, click here for a picture.

Instead of the lamp inside just fizzling out, like most lamps do, this one decided (or rather, my mind control caused it) to shatter and sprinkle the pieces throughout most of the fixture’s body. Due to the fact that no one had really seen this happen before, Joshua Schulman, Master Electrician (the person most often responsible for me not destroying all of LPAC on a regular basis), gave me my name: Cthulhu.

A sketch of the glorious Cthulhu.

For those of you who aren’t familar with the mythical creature of Cthulhu,

In the short story, “The Call of Cthulhu”, H.P. Lovecraft, describes Cthulhu as, “…an octopus, a dragon, and a human caricature….”

Cthulhu is “the source of constant anxiety for mankind at a subconscious level..” according to Wikipedia.

My hope is that I can continue to live up to the wonderful example of my namesake.

P.S. Thank you and good luck to everyone working at LPAC for the duration of my time here at Swarthmore.

Leave a Reply

