Out of the Office: Lacrosse Camp!

28 Jun

First off, sorry for the lag time ya’ll. I went home for my 21st birthday ^__^

Anyway, much to my heart’s dismay, this week I spent my time out of the admissions office. Luckily for me, I will still having plenty of fun coaching the Garnet Elite Lacrosse camp down at the stadium on Swat’s campus. Around 100 local kids have been coming out everyday this week learning “The Creator’s Game” from current Swarthmore players and coaches. Their days consist of basic skill work, conceptual drills, games, and skill competitions. Also, during the day we have had outside guests visit and talk with the kids about lacrosse, and it’s presence here in Philadelphia. On wednesday, for instance, the Philadelphia Wings and their mascot, Mad Dog, came to campus and did a bunch of giveaways.

I was paired up with the 3rd and 4th graders so realistically, there is a disparity in skill level. It didn’t for one second, stop them from listening and learning though. I’m a lot of these kids first or second impression of the game. That being said, they’ve been really great about picking up the fundamentals and have really come along and matured as players in just a few days of work. That and they’ve been really good about keeping things interesting. You can just tell these kids really like the game so far, but they are also just super excited to just be hanging out and getting some fresh air. Not to mention they all think it’s funny to tackle me and steal my hat whenever they can. Anyway, the weather has been great and the participation is awesome.

Can’t wait to update you guys soon with some other cool stuff that’s been going on. In the mean time, here are some photos from the week!!

Mad Dog getting the crowd excited!

Ian Lukaszewicz (’15) and I with Mad Dog!!

The 3rd and 4th graders practicing what they learned.

Campers getting ready for a great day of lax!!

Leave a Reply

